Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

August 30, 2021

As published in the media release dated July 21, 2021, the Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 15, 2021, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. At those hearings, the Commission will also consider the qualifications of the following retired judges:

Retired Circuit Court

The Honorable Thomas W. Cooper Jr., Manning, SC The Honorable R. Markley Dennis Jr., Daniel Island, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, November 1, 2021.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.